Meet Tom S.!

In honor of January being National Mentoring Month, today’s post spotlight’s one of our awesome 5-year mentors, Tom S.!

IRL_Digital_TYcards3

 

Tom S. is a proud father of 4 and grandfather of 2, who currently resides in Chalfont with his wife of 38 years. In addition to working full-time in healthcare sales management, Tom has happily served as a mentor to 3 of Tabor’s young men over the past 5 years. I contacted Tom to ask him a few questions about his experience as a Tabor Mentor:

Why did you initially get involved in the Tabor Mentoring Program?
“I was laid off in 2009 and looking to give back for my family’s good fortune, so I answered an ad in the Intelligencer.”

What were you expecting it to be like?
“I was uncertain what to expect, other than helping a youngster.”

Did your experience match what you expected?
“Yes and no. I found that he (my first mentee) learned to expect me to help him. But I also learned from him…. it was amazing to me how he dealt with adversity. He has overcome all kinds of adversity… foster care since the age of 4, multiple high schools, homeless for a winter, and yet he now has a decent job and lifestyle.”

What is your most memorable moment?
“At a Phillies game! We sat in the upper deck of right field, but by the end of the game, we were touring the stadium. The attendant behind home plate let us watch the last inning in the reserved section!”

What is something you want the readers, new mentors, or potential mentors to know?
“You will provide more help than you can imagine and you will learn as well.”

 

Is there something you would like to know from our mentors? Comment/reply with your questions and I’ll ask!