I Am A Mentor Day

Today is I Am A Mentor Day.
A day for volunteer mentors to celebrate their role and reflect on the ways mentees have enhanced their world.

picture-group

Here are a few things some of our mentors have shared while reflecting on their experience as a mentor:

Did your experience match what you expected?
“Yes and no. I found that he (my first mentee) learned to expect me to help him. But I also learned from him…. it was amazing to me how he dealt with adversity. He has overcome all kinds of adversity… foster care since the age of 4, multiple high schools, homeless for a winter, and yet he now has a decent job and lifestyle.”

What is your most memorable moment?
“At a Phillies game! We sat in the upper deck of right field, but by the end of the game, we were touring the stadium. The attendant behind home plate let us watch the last inning in the reserved section!”

What is something that surprised you/or that you were not expecting?
“I was often surprised at the reaction or misperception of who I was and my role. The mentees have (so many) people in their lives – Tabor counselors, county case workers, etc. The mentees thought I was a paid person like their counselors. One day, while waiting for my mentee to get ready, I got to talking to one pair of foster parents who asked me which county office I was out of and whether I got overtime for the afterhours work. They were surprised to find out that I was a volunteer doing this for the fun of it!

What is something you want the readers, new mentors, or potential mentors to know?
“You will provide more help than you can imagine and you will learn as well.

Leave a Reply

